Why is it that people just don't pay attention when driving? Today was another one of those runs where everything felt good, and the run was really enjoyable. That was until about 200 feet before I finished.
After the snow we had this past week, not all the sidewalks are free of ice or packed snow. Most of my run I tried to keep in the road (in the breakdown lane), but on the final stretch there is no breakdown lane. When this happens, I move onto the sidewalk (if possible). About 1/4 mile form home, I got on the sidewalk for the final portion, and that's when it happened. Another idiot driver.
The car was pulling out of the driveway for the church next door, and just wasn't paying attention. First off, maybe she should have looked both ways to see if anyone was on the sidewalk. Secondly, she should have stopped short of the sidewalk. But no, she never looked and stopped right on the sidewalk. Great, now I had 10 feet to stop on a slippery walk before running into her car.
Luckily I kept my balance, and didn't fall. I had a few choice words for her, but I'm sure she didn't hear me, because she still never looked. Next time, I think I'll bang on the roof so I can be sure that they know I'm there. IDIOTS!
Today's total - 4.08 miles / 88.81 total for year.
No comments:
Post a Comment