Today turned out to be a pretty nice day, after the storm cleared. The sun was shining, and the sky was clear, but that was just an illusion... it was frigid, the temperature never got above 12 degrees, and that was with a 10-15 mph wind. By the time I got home it was 7 with a wind chill of -9. Now I may be crazy, but my Momma didn't raise no fool. Time to hit the treadmill.
Now treadmills and I are mot great friends. I can count on one had the amount of treadmill runs that I have in any given year. Can you say boring!!
Now my lack of use and knowledge may hurt a little, but I figured I'll use one of the pre-planned programs. A 5K run sounds good. First it asks my weight, then it wants a level... OK, let's go with one. I'm sorry, but starting at 2.5 mph is a bit too slow, so I upped the level to where it felt good (I think it was a six). After a minute, it speeds up a little, then a little more, but it still feels good. About four minutes in, and the thing goes wild... the speed increases to 8.3 mph. I hit the button to slow it down to about 6 mph, then after another minute is friggin' speeds up again. WTF!! I hit the stop button, and play it off like that was my warm-up. I take a drink of water and re-start the treadmill... this time manual control... 6.3 mph, and 1.0 elevation.
25 minutes later, I finish my workout sweating like I haven't in a couple of months. Maybe running indoors isn't so bad, but I'll stick with the outdoors (as long as the temperature is in the double digits).
Day #3 - 2.61 miles / 5.95 total for year.
No comments:
Post a Comment